Gabriel's Horn

A terribly biased view of sports through the Eyes of Texas.

Big XII Roundtable: The Aftermath

Posted by TxHny on October 10, 2007

This week’s roundtable is hosted by Bring on the Cats. Head over to check out the rest of the Big 12 blogger responses.

1. Some teams are coming off a big win or wins (Oklahoma, Colorado, KU, Texas Tech, Texas A&M, Missouri), while others are dealing with the sting of a tough loss or losses (K-State, Texas, Nebraska, Baylor, Iowa State, Oklahoma State). Tell us where your team is headed in the wake of the first two weeks of conference play.

I know you never thought you’d hear me say this after two conference losses (actually, 4 in a row, but who’s counting?) but I’m oddly comfortable with Texas. Sure, we can talk about our troubles, but I don’t think any of them mean you can count the Horns out. (Well. Unless your talking about National Championships or Big XII titles….) We lost the OU game, but it was the first time this season I’ve really been satisfied with our performance. Up next is Iowa State and Baylor — which will be a nice break before Nebraska and Oklahoma State. Then we’ll face Texas Tech and Texas A&M.

The question is — will we win out? I think everyone knows we could. If I was a betting sort of gal (which I am), I’d say we still have one loss coming our way. That being said, I’m not sure if it will be Leach’s pirates, our sheepish friends in College Station or if the Huskers will serve up the loss.

2. Colorado and Texas A&M have emerged as unlikely conference leaders at 2-0 (give yourself a cookie if you predicted that), while preseason darlings Texas (0-2) and Nebraska (1-1 and not playing well) are floundering. Do the current leaders have the wherewithal to make it to San Antonio, or will somebody from elsewhere in the pack overtake them?

I think Texas A&M and Colorado have what it takes to get to San Antonio, but I don’t think they will. Oklahoma is still kind of a big deal. The Colorado game is what it is: an upset. I don’t believe it is an indicator that we should all start doing bows to Colorado or treating Oklahoma like they aren’t going to rip someone a new one given the opportunity. In the North, I wouldn’t count Nebraska and Mizzou out either.

Is Texas A&M the real deal? Eh, tough to say. They’ve only got one loss, and while it looked bad on TV, no shame in losing to Miami. However, they haven’t really beaten anyone significant. I think after this Saturday we’ll see how the Ags measure up. A loss this weekend will be tough because the Ags have a long season ahead.

Enough rambling:

North: Missouri
South: Oklahoma (Sucks).

3. A few weeks ago we did a ranking of the six BCS conferences, with most bloggers picking the Big 12 in the middle of the pack, which would be a big improvement over the last couple years. Have the middle and bottom teams of the conference improved significantly, or have the teams at the top declined significantly? Or is it something else?

“One thing is for sure, Texas is not the same team it was with Vince Young.” You can say that again.

K-State has come a long way, and I’m not just saying that because they beat us twice. Okay, really, I’m saying that because they beat us twice in a row. Even though Texas is not what it was, beating us twice in a row certainly isn’t something a lot of teams have done.

Colorado is markedly better. It was just an upset, but last years Buffs team couldn’t have pulled it against OU.

Missouri has a couple of impressive wins under its belt. Is this team good enough to carry the hype? I’d like to hope so.

Oklahoma State has lost a bit of its former steam. The team isn’t terrible, but I’ll wait before I start throwing around words like “improved”.

Texas Tech is the same ol’ Tech we know and love.

Texas A&M is currently featuring Fran’s last stand. If the Ags win 5 of 6 they’ll be the team Aggies have been desperately awaiting, if he loses 4, 5 or 6 of 6, this will be the straw that broke the sheep’s back and will clearly mark a low for Aggies.

4. Getting waaaaay ahead of ourselves: What if Missouri or KU goes undefeated and wins the Big 12 Championship Game? Would they get a shot at the national championship game?

No. And that is all I have to say about that.

5. Rank the conference teams

1. OU

2. Missouri

3. Nebraska

4. Texas

5. Kansas

6. Colorado

7. KState

8. Texas Tech

9. Texas A&M

10. Oklahoma State

11. Baylor

12. Iowa State

6 Responses to “Big XII Roundtable: The Aftermath”

  1. I’m not sure that I agree with you about Kansas/Missouri not making it into the national championship game. If by some miracle there are more than two undefeated teams this year, then they’ll be out. But by the way this Year of the Underdog is going, it looks like there may be a battle of the one-loss teams. If that happens, it’ll be awfully hard to deny an undefeated team from a big conference a spot in the title game. Even though the Big 12 is slipping up this year, we’re still one of the majors, and I can’t see the voters giving an undefeated Missouri team the brush-off, especially if they beat Oklahoma handily in the Big 12 Championship game.

  2. Larry the Tap Dancing Giant said

    Handedly? Don’t you mean “handily”? Unless you mean Handey, as in Jack Handey…because if you did, man, that’d be a killer game. I’m betting Jack Handey as a coach would implement some crazy scheme like this:

    “If I ever went to war, instead of throwing a grenade, I’d throw one of those small pumpkins. Then maybe my enemy would pick up the pumpkin and think about the futility of war. And that would give me the time I need to hit him with a real grenade.”

    Brilliance.

  3. handedly? i have no idea what you’re talking about.

  4. txhny said

    I see your point… but I don’t think we’ll see Missouri or Kansas in the MNC, even if they go undefeated. I’m not saying its right – that’s why its called the “Mythical National Championship.”

    Plus, ESPN is pretty comfortable with USC. They’ve had this little love affair going for quite some time now. Things only get messy when you bring in someone new. Petey will start feeling lonely and do you really think that is something the world can stand? Certainly not!

  5. lucky21you said

    I just read this and all I have to say is: stop ranking Nebraska so high. I know this was written before yesterday’s game, but they have been such a disappointment this season that I’d say you should only rank them above Baylor and A&M in the Big 12. And thats only because I think A&M will lose 4 of their last 5 games…if not all 5.

  6. lucky21you said

    Oh, I forgot Iowa State, but thats only because I still love our dear friend Gene Chizik…especially since his team just gave us our first conference win.

Leave a Reply

 
