Gabriel's Horn

A terribly biased view of sports through the Eyes of Texas.

The Texas Toast

Posted by RubyLynn on September 28, 2007

Toast: Bourbon (Specifically, mint juleps)

September is National Bourbon Heritage Month, and since Congress decided that bourbon is important enough to get a whole month, I think it’s at least important enough to get a spot on the Texas Toast.

After going the liquor store, Txhny and I decided it would be a great idea to make mint juleps. I’m generally a decent bartender, but I’ve never made them before. I know you’re supposed to use crushed ice, but we had cubes. And I know it’s better to make a simple syrup, but we’re lazy. So – this is what I made.

texas-toast-012.jpg
At least it looks pretty.

If you’ve never had a mint julep, even a properly made one, it’s mostly whiskey. So, if you like whiskey, super. I however feel about whiskey this week like Txhny felt about Fireman’s 4 last week. I keep trying it, and I still can’t get into it. I know it’s near blasphemy to be a southern girl and hate whiskey, but I just can’t help it. Besides, I make up for my lack of whiskey intake with lots and lots of tequila (and rum and wine). So – after trying my mint julep (and passing it off on our third and fourth roommates), I decided to make a mojito instead.

texas-toast-014.jpg
Screw Congress. This just tastes better.

Txhny gives my mint julep a 4 out of 5, even though I don’t think it deserves it.

3 Responses to “The Texas Toast”

  1. txhny said

    No what on earth are we going to do with that whole bottle of Makers Mark? How about….

    Daisy Duke
    Ingredients:
    1 1/2 oz Bourbon
    1 1/2 tsp Lemon juice
    1 1/2 tsp Simple Syrup
    5 drops Cointreau
    1/2 cup ice
    Club Soda

  2. See, that sounds delicious. But I know when I try it, I won’t like it. Although – I’m sure you could replace the bourbon in that recipe with vodka VERY easily.

  3. gingerut said

    you never replace bourbon with anything other than more bourbon. i.e. 4 oz bourbon instead of 1.5 oz. Trust me, I know my bourbon conversions.

Leave a Reply

 
