Gabriel's Horn

A terribly biased view of sports through the Eyes of Texas.

The Texas Toast

Posted by TxHny on September 25, 2007

Toast: Live Oak Pilz, Hickory Street Bar & Grill (and Drinkery!)


MMM…. hops.

Your writers were feeling the pressures of every day life, and skipped over to Hickory Street Bar & Grill for a little happy hour wind down. Unable to pick when faced with the delight of $2 pints and too many choices, we sampled Fireman’s 4 and the Live Oak Pilz.

I always try Fireman’s 4, and just like with Tony Romo, I can’t get on board. I don’t like Fireman’s 4. I need to stop trying to like it. I’ve made my peace with disliking my favorite NFL team’s QB, I need to give up on my favorite brewing company’s (Real Ale Brewing, Blanco, Texas) blonde ale.

After almost no deliberation we decided on the Live Oak Pilz. A little bit “meatier” than the previous weeks’ toasts, this beer has a lot of flavor. This pilsner is has a strong hoppy taste without being too heavy. Unlike some of our other toasts, this crisp beer is available year round. Not the best pilsner any of us ever had, but certainly not the worst. We still love Live Oak’s other beers, check out the rest  here.

Hickory Street on the other hand was fantastic. They have lots of patio and indoor seating. They have great happy hour specials, particularly the $2 drafts all day, every day. (And have the Mango Margarita. Trust us.) We enjoyed the Three Amigos (queso, salsa and chips) with our drinks and later, a delicious burger and fries. The far part of the patio has pleasant misters to help with the heat until fall weather (finally) arrives. Depending on the evening, they have live music and karaoke. On the weekend they have an all-you-can-eat Brunch that would make your momma proud.

Oh, and the wait staff is great. If the owner
and his dog are there, give them a hello.

Stop on by: 800 Congress, Austin, Texas. 512.477.8968

All in all, we give this beer a three out of five.


Three out of five, not too shabby. Cheers!

I’ll tack on another half because of that rich golden color. Doesn’t it look yummy? Another Texas Toast coming up soon!!!

5 Responses to “The Texas Toast”

  1. mmmmm beer. that sounds like a really good idea right now.

  2. hahahahahaha i just read this again, and MMM hops… it’s like MMMbop, like the song! Did you mean that? Because even if you didn’t, it’s a pretty wonderful pun. And you know how I like puns.

  3. Txhny said

    Mmmbop. I don’t know what that is. I’ve never even heard of the Hansens. And I didn’t get the Christmas album as a gift either.

    I like you man, but you’re crazy.

    Mark it down: I will never admit that I *may* know who the Hansens are by alluding to them in pun or casual banter situations. That is all.

  4. Larry the Tap Dancing Giant said

    Ordinarily, I’d chime in here and point out the fact that 4 million record buyers (that’s right folks, Middle of Nowhere sold 4 million records in the US and 10 million worldwide)can’t be wrong. MMMBop has to be one of the most influential records of our time (I’d say the other is Chumbawumba’s “Tubthumping”). I’d also probably say that Txhny was of the appropriate age to be unwittingly sucked into the Hanson vortex when the record dropped back in 97.

    However, I am persuaded by her seemingly innocent mispelling of the bands name that she had very little to do with perpetuating Hanson-mania.

    But as long as we’re on the subject, I’d like to call attention to the fact that the members of Hanson are great humanitarians…check out the bottom of the MMMBop wiki… http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MMMBop

  5. txhny said

    Awesome link, Larry. Simply awesome.

    MMMBop!!!

Leave a Reply

 
