Gabriel's Horn

A terribly biased view of sports through the Eyes of Texas.

Big 12 Roundtable: Now We Know

Posted by TxHny on September 12, 2007

This week’s questions are from Crimson and Cream Machine, the blog of our infamous rival across the Red River.

1. Based on what you now know to be your team’s strengths and weaknesses – if the game was on the line, do you want your offense or defense on the field?

Just to be the other side of the coin, I’ll go with the Texas defense. After Arkansas State I was not impressed, and the problems we’ve had for a couple seasons with our secondary were completely exposed. After the TCU game however, I really like the more aggressive style of defense. I’d like to see that continue, so I give the vote to the Longhorn D.

2. If you had to pick a team from the AP Top 10 for your team to play this weekend, who would you pick, and why (OU & Texas are not options)?

I’d love love love to see a game with LSU. If we played this weekend we’d get taken behind the woodshed, but can you imagine how much fun the tailgate would be? Gumbo and BBQ. Shiner Bock and boudain. Laissez le bon temps roulet!

Buuuuut that would not be this weekend. This weekend, I’d love to see West Virginia. A nice win against a highly ranked opponent would bode well for the Longhorns. Plus I’d like to see how Colt and the offense would do against Williams, Ivy and Magro. (Not to ignore WVU’s offense, led by dual-threat Patrick White.)

3. You can take one player off your team and trade him for any player in the conference who plays the same position – who are you taking?

Hmm. I can’t believe I’m saying this… but considering the question marks around Orakpo’s return… I’d like to take Alonzo Dotson from OU for Eddie Jones. Jones has done a fine job while Orakpo is out, but Dotson is a tacklin’ machine.

Too bad we can’t get this guy.

4. Conference Power Rankings! Rank the teams in the conference from first to worst.

1. Oklahoma. I can’t wait for October 6th.

2. Texas – Don’t question our authority.

cartmancop.gif

3. Nebraska – Come on. Beat USC. Please??

4. Missouri – I don’t understand how Texas A&M is on the AP Poll, and Missouri is not. Big 12 South bias?

5. Texas Tech – Can Graham keep Leach out of the hot seat?

6. Kansas, Texas A&M, Kansas State – Kind of a cop out by putting them together. I just couldn’t order them and really feel good about it. I’ve underestimated Kansas and Kansas State on more than one occasion. Texas A&M also leaves me uncomfortable. Fresno State isn’t a terrible team, but I felt that the Aggies should have ran away with the game.

9. Oklahoma State – Disappointed. I expected a lot more out of the first couple of games.

10. Colorado – Particularly after they lose to Florida State this week.

11. Baylor – “Heavenly Father, Thank you for Iowa State. Amen.”

12. Iowa State Chizik: Do you miss Bevo yet?

5. Big 12 Players of the Week – Make your selections for offensive and defensive players of the week for week two.

Offense: Colt McCoy. He didn’t look awesome the first half of the TCU game, but he rushed for 34 yards, and threw for 239. I know TD passes are a big deal and I want to see more of those, but I hope we’ll see more of Week 2 Colt this season. (Yes. I know I’m a homer. I gave Bradford his due last week.)

Defense: To mix things up, let’s go with Steve Octavian from Nebraska. 6 tackles, 2 for loss, and some pass defense to boot. Nice.

Not on CCM’s list of questions, but… Big 12 Hot Player of the Week.

Leave a Reply

 
